Ballarat District Golf Incorporated

2017 women champThe Ballarat District Women’s Championships were held at Buninyong Golf Club on Monday 29th May.

A new Shot Gun Start format was introduced for 2017. The 27 Hole players had an early 7:30 am start in quite cold conditions, and the 18 hole players joined in the field at 9:30 am. As the sun came out and the weather warmed up, playing conditions improved.

Defending champion Amy Leeson from Buninyong Golf Club got away to a flying start in the Open section, finishing even par after the initial 9 hole round. She was closely followed by Helen Pascoe, two over par. Over the next 18 holes Ellen Pollock stormed home with a fine 2 over par 75, as well as Sophie Byrne improving on her morning round to shoot 78. Playing in different groups, Amy had no idea what was happening behind her, but kept her head and shot a steady 79 to clinch the title with a total of 115, closely followed by Ellen Pollock and Helen Pascoe on 117.

The 18 Hole ‘B’ Grade winner was Vicki Bennett from Ballarat Golf Club with a score of 100, and the ‘C’ Grade went to Jill Hopper from Midlands with a score of 104. An enjoyable day was had by all.